Finished Friday

I’ve written up so many draft posts and they’re all out of date. I have had my head down (or not, as sleep has evaded me) to get my Still Light Tunic finished and it is done. Voilá!

IMG_9899

Can’t see the pockets on it very well and the 3/4 sleeves but trust me, it’s done. It took just under 4 weeks from start to finish and guess what? The colours don’t suit me. This beautiful, merino/cashmere/nylon soft and beautiful Macaron loveliness isn’t “me”. It hopefully will have a good home soon , though. Post-office-depending!

I’ve also started a new WIP (#2ndProjectof2017) which is a Magical Jumper, designed by Elena Nodel,  for my son. There are a few alterations available on this pattern, depending on what you like (girl/boy/unisex/pockets/no pockets/ribbed sleeves/fancy hem) which is great. I found that I had to print it out and highlight the parts relevant to the size I’m making – for reference, it’s age 10-12 as my 6yr old is *that* tall – and it really has helped. The yarn isn’t hand-dyed (don’t drop dead of shock, I do own *some* commercial yarn) but it is cashmere/silk/merino and beautious indeed. Sublime DK and just stunning to work with. I’m trying all sorts with this pattern – first attempt at cabling (#newbieknitterscancable) and a few other new techniques. One which stumped me – I’m so pattern-dyslexic. It really is A Thing, folks. It just doesn’t seem to “click” for me at all – and like the toddler I am inside, I threw it down , without ripping it out for a change (can I have a hollah for not acting out my inner toddler please?) , popped it into the ball bag and picked up my Chevron blanket again instead.

Here it is , so far : I’ve started this from scratch 8 times now:

IMG_9902
Yarn is Sublime : Baby Cashmerino (with silk) DK. Needles : Knit Pro – obvs! – mistakes, as usual, all my own.
Leave a Reply

